Topic: Bridging the Global Economic Development Gap

What if we told you that in today’s world the richest 1% of the population own 45% of the world's wealth and only 4 cents in every dollar of tax revenue comes from taxes on wealth?

The discrepancy both between and within nations in terms of income, wealth and employment distribution, that is what economic inequality – perhaps the defining issue of our time – is mainly about.

Developing countries, emerging markets and industrial countries are equally affected and many of the most economically productive countries in the world have not been able to slow, let alone put an end to this dramatically growing divide.

Inequality is not inevitable and certainly not insurmountable. Thus, should you be in want of a change, join the ECOFIN committee, speak your mind and do not look back!

About the Committee

The Economic and Financial Committee (Second Committee) is one of the six participating members of the General Assembly, having been established in 1945 as one of the most vital committees. It plays a unique role within the United Nations as it is its primary financial organ and it functions to discuss issues relating to economic development in order to spur growth and prosperity.

Country Matrix :

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Columbia
  • Denmark
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Mexico
  • Nigeria
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sudan
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Vietnam